Supporting Operation Supply Drop with My Book

osd cupA few years back I realized I could no longer ignore my creative passions, and that I never should have ignored them to begin with. The problem was that, when exiting the military, I had no idea what it meant to actually make a career out of what I loved to do. Now I am living the dream, or at least my dream, as a writer on the games Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead at Telltale Games, as well as a novelist and screenwriter.

It is with this in mind that I’ve set out to ensure others no longer have their doubts. Too often the problem is that we don’t know what we don’t know, but I’ve written my advice and interviewed military veterans who have gone on to follow their dreams. Many have succeeded, and many have at least seen progress toward success. Regardless, all are doing what they love, and they have shared their stories and advice with us in my book, Military Veterans in Creative Careers.

Nook || Kindle || iBooks

This book isn’t only for veterans. The interviews in this book will help anyone with an interest in acting, writing, directing, producing, or looking to break in to film, publishing, or games. It will help you to understand the level of discipline and smart work necessary, and will deepen your understanding of what it means for us to have served our country.

But the book will be especially useful for veterans. We cannot and should not forget the amazing stories of the men and women who have served their country, and I am positive you will find their journeys as inspiring as I have.

This book sets out to educate and inspire, which is why I have chosen a very inspiring organization to help promote – Operation Supply Drop (OSD). For those of you who do not know, OSD inspires our troops and shows them we care by sending care packages of video games, game consoles, and more to our brothers and sisters serving overseas and to those in VA hospitals. In my book, I have interviewed several veterans heavily involved with OSD, whether that means working directly for them or donating their money from Twitch.TV streaming to OSD. To thank these veterans and OSD for their incredible work, and to help support our troops, for the month of August I will be donating all royalties received from book sales (ebook and print) to OSD.

What does this mean for you? If you are interested in hearing these stories, or simply want to support a good cause, make sure to buy the book in August. Or send some money to OSD directly – I’ll be happy either way, and so will you.

 

Military Veterans in Creative Careers.

Military Veterans in Creative Careers - Justin Sloan

To follow Justin Sloan: http://eepurl.com/bbpNjv

Leave a Reply

